I think that most cats get 9 lives, or so I have heard... but sometimes I think I must have more than that... and I will explain why here today.
A couple of weeks ago I found something TOTALLY AWESOME on the cupboard while mom and dad were out - it looked like dry food (my favorite "bad" treat!) but they were longer and slimmer... pointy. Of course I didn't chew it (I never bother) - so just wolfed them down - DELICIOUS!
When my mom and dad got home they said that I had "gotten into" something called "roasted pumpkin seeds" that was going to part of THEIR dinner (which makes me wonder why they don't share more often... after all, I am a member of this household!) - but oh well, "He will probably barf them up later".
Well, barf them up I did. Whole. Along with my breakfast. I thought everything would be fine after that - I mean, what's a cat without a little barfing??
Strangely the next day I barfed again... started to not feel so well... but I endured and kept right on eating my dinner, begging for more, all of the "normal" stuff that I always do.
But then 4 days later I felt really like crap and wanted to hide. I didn't come home that night and my mom worried. I finally came in for breakfast and went about eating as usual, but I guess I was a little slow... I barfed again... no food this time... just some yellow crap... I went to my hiding spot again outside. It was really hot and I felt like crap. I didn't come home for dinner. I knew my mom was worried (she kept calling me) but I just thought I would be fine if I could just sleep here a little...
I came home that night around 11. I could hardly move - I don't think I've ever felt this awful before... I would like to eat but I can't... yuck, yuck, yuck. I want to die, whatever that is... have I spent all my lives already? Don't some cats get one more?
My mom, who is a vet, was really worried gave me some fluids under the skin because I was so dehydrated. She stuck something up my butt and said I didn't have a "temperature" - oh man, I felt like crap and those fluids were really awful. I drank a whole bunch of water.
I slept all night in one spot in the kitchen. My mom didn't get any sleep because she was so worried... I think I must have barfed again... all water. Oh crap.
Then she and dad put me on a table and did something else - "drawing blood" - I think she almost fainted when she saw that the blood was yellow-tinged and separated out really fast - "OMG it's his liver!!!!". She sent it off for analysis... and gave me an acupuncture treatment.
Later she stuck that thing up my butt again and said that I had a fever!!! She gave me some homeopathic medicine - those little sugar pills (yuck) - Phosphorus 200c - just in case I still had some of those pumpkin seed things still in my stomach or intestine... this would help it to come out - and maybe help my liver too.
The blood results came the next day - liver problem, maybe a blockage... and something called a high white count - maybe bacterial? so vague these livers... I think this is when she started me on an antibiotic.
I don't know if it was the homeopathy, the acupuncture or the antibiotic but I started to feel better pretty soon. They gave me baby food (yum) and I ate just a little at a time.
That was last weekend... so far this week has been a little up and down. I lost a lot of weight and still feel weak. Mom and dad imprisoned me in their house for a few days which was okay, but really, I get off on being outside so eventually they let me.
I like that my mom worries about me and can help to fix me... I know she worries that she cannot do everything.
It's okay. I love her. And dad.
Fingers crossed that I have a few lives left... and will be around to skulk around your house once again, lovely neighbors!
I'm sorry that people are not able to post comments! What is up with that??
ReplyDelete